This site uses technical, analytics and third-party cookies.
By continuing to browse, you accept the use of cookies.

Preferences cookies

About us

The Embassy of Italy is located at the edge of several Australian Federal Departments and of the Lodge of the Prime Minister.

The structure was projected by the Italian architect Enrico Taglietti, migrated to Australian in the ’50s. During his career, Mr Taglietti has been well known for the use of cement to create stunning forms and spaces.

The Offices of the Embassy of Italy is in fact made of cement with a number of wooden panels inside that make the structure dramatically dynamic.

The Ambassador’s residence has a modernist architectural structure that pays homage to classical architecture by referring to the plan of the Roman Domus. In fact, once inside, one can see that the spaces are distributed around an open central courtyard. The floors are in precious white and pink marbles from Carrara and Verona.

 

Useful information

The Consular Office (passports, notary, AIRE, civil status, visas) of the Embassy of Italy is responsible for the ACT and the cities of Queanbeyan and Cooma in New South Wales.

The Consular Offices are open to the public from 10:00 am to 12:00 pm from Monday through Friday (on Wednesday also open from 1pm to 3pm).Payments can be made either with a debit card or in cash.

Countries of secondary accreditation for this Embassy are Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Nauru, Vanuatu

If you need to contact (only for emergency situations) the Embassy outside the business hours (mon-fri 09:00 am – 4:30 pm) please call: +61 418 266 349 (operating from 4.30 pm to 10.00 pm Canberra Time).

 

Holiday calendar for 2024

Monday 01 January NEW YEAR

Friday 26 January AUSTRALIA DAY

Monday 11 March CANBERRA DAY

Friday 29 March HOLY FRIDAY

Monday 01 April l EASTER MONDAY

Thursday 25 April ANZAC DAY

Sunday 02 June FEAST OF THE REPUBLIC

Monday 10 June SOVEREIGN BIRTHDAY

Monday 07 October LABOR DAY

Wednesday 25 December CHRISTMAS

Thursday 26 December BOXING DAY